New service shortlisted for respected national award

We are extremely pleased to announce that NHS East Riding of Yorkshire Clinical Commissioning Group’s new personal wheelchair budget service has been shortlisted for a prestigious national healthcare award – The Health Service Journal’s (HSJ) Health and Local Government Partnership Award.

Implemented by NHS East Riding of Yorkshire Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) in collaboration with East Riding of Yorkshire Council, Nottingham Rehabilitation Service (NRS) and Blatchfords the new service offers users a wider range of wheelchair options, customised to suit their clinical and social needs, giving them more freedom and independence.

The service has been a huge success, at the end of 2018/19 the CCG and partners surpassed performance against the national personal health budget target of 115 by supporting and improving the health and wellbeing of 1,528 wheelchair users, of which 1,437 users were assisted via a personal wheelchair budget.

Sally Smith, CCG Lead for equipment and wheelchairs said: “We are delighted to have been shortlisted for such a high profile award, it’s great news.

“The service has been up and running for a couple of years now and the impact we’re having on people’s lives is just wonderful. Many everyday tasks for some wheelchair users were unsurmountable obstacles; however with a personal wheelchair budget they have a customised chair that suits their lifestyle, giving them much more freedom and independence.”

Martin Bailey, service user, said, “The new service is invaluable helping people like me be able to afford a customised wheelchair specific to individual needs. I am more independent, and no longer have to rely on family and friends for many tasks that people take for granted. The telescopic seat allows me to do simple things; reach for items in tall cupboards, prune bushes and flowerbeds, continuing my love of gardening. I can now take Poppy my dog for walks, I have much more freedom.”

Award winners will be announced at the HSJ Awards ceremony on Wednesday 6 November in London.

<< Go back to the previous page